In the world of sales, contacts are everything. Many companies hire people not just for their sales abilities, but also for the contacts that they bring with them. Most salespeople are well aware of how valuable their contact list is and may try to keep it private, away from their employers.
While this is not too much of an issue as long as they are working for your company, it may well be when they leave. The loss of an employee can also mean losing valuable sales contacts, especially if a CRM was not used to manage this data.
Google Contacts Recovery via Email
After an employee leaves, most companies retain access to their emails. Not everyone realizes that having access to the employee emails also allows them to recover the customer contacts that were created while working for your company.
Once the contacts are recovered, the new salesperson filing the existing role can easily take over and begin reaching out to these contacts and securing the accounts. The ensures that the company does not lose business due to the former employee poaching clients for their new company.
Depending on the email system your company uses, it may be very quick and easy or fairly time consuming and tedious to recover emails. In the worse case scenario if you use an email system that does not automatically add contacts to a database, it may be necessary to go through the emails manually to recover all the contacts.
If your company uses G Suite then the task of recovering contacts is very easy, as long as the user account is still active and you have access to it. You can make sure of this by either getting the user password and changing it so that the ex-employee no longer has access to the account or by migrating all the account data to another G Suite account.
In some cases an employee will leave suddenly and you may not have chance to change the account password before this happens. In this case you can reset the password from the G Suite admin panel.
Even deleted contacts can be restored with Google contact recovery. If you are logged into the original user account, visit https://contacts.google.com/ and you’ll be able to see all contacts. As gmail automatically adds contacts for each email you send, all sales contacts that have been emailed should be available from this page.
To restore deleted contacts, click “more” on the left hand menu and choose “Restore Contacts”. You’ll have the option of the time frame to recover data from for up to 30 days
How to Restore Contacts Through Gmail Recovery That Were Deleted Over 30 Days Ago
This method works well for recently deleted contacts, but there is no currently way to recover contacts that were deleted over a month ago using the native functionality. It may seem that 30 days is sufficient time to recover data, however in actuality many employees may know they are leaving the company in the future and delete the data before they inform the line manager, who can secure the account.
The solution to this problem is to make sure a regular backup system is in place for all employee G Suite accounts. In the case that deleted data needs to be restored to a user account, an earlier version of the account can be restored easily from backup and the contacts recovered before they were deleted.
If the account was not backed up, there is no way to recover deleted data more than 30 days after it was deleted. You probably won’t realise you need this feature until it’s too late so it’s always best to be proactive and ensure a robust backup system is in place before it is urgently needed.
Monitoring Employee Accounts for Suspicious Behavior
You can’t always predict when an employee is going to leave your company and take proactive steps to ensure their user account data is protected. However by investing in an account monitoring service, you can receive alerts for suspicious behaviour such as exporting data or deleting contacts.
The Spinbackup user behavior audit, a part of the cybersecurity service, allows administrators to monitor employee actions, assess the level of risk and receive customized automated alerts so that any suspicious activity is detected immediately.
Warning signs that an employee may be leaving include exporting data to private accounts, sharing files with users outside the domain, logging in from an unexpected location, and deleting data.
This feature can be very useful to detect malicious employee behaviour but as long as the Google user account data is backed up regularly, the data will always be safe and recoverable.
3,850 total views, 15 views todayNo tags for this post.